Apple Launches App Tracking Transparency In Their New iOS Update

28 April, 2021 (Wednesday)

Apple announced the launch of their new software update iOS 14.5 which has several novel features but one particular feature stands out: the App Tracking Transparency feature.

Apple explained the new feature as, "App Tracking Transparency requires apps to get the user’s permission before tracking their data across apps or websites owned by other companies for advertising, or sharing their data with data brokers. Apps can prompt users for permission, and in Settings, users will be able to see which apps have requested permission to track so they can make changes to their choice at any time."

Thus, apps won't be able to use your data for targeted ads, share your location data with advertisers or share your advertising ID or any other identifiers with third parties unless you give your permission for it. 

Privacy supporters have praised the move, which was first announced at Apple's Worldwide Developers Conference in June 2020, although businesses including Facebook have criticized it, claiming it would affect their ad business; a step from Apple to increase its transparency with its customers.

How To Opt-Out of Tracking on New Apps:

You'll get a message when you download and open a new app asking if you want the app to monitor your activities through various companies' applications and websites. You'll also see more about the app's tracking capabilities. You have the option of asking the app not to track you or allowing it to track you.

By going to Settings > Privacy > Monitoring and toggling off Allow Apps to Request to Monitor, you can opt out of data tracking on all apps you download.

How To Opt-Out of Tracking on Existing Apps:

You can also switch tracking permissions on or off for applications that you've already downloaded and have tracking permissions set up for them on a per-app basis.

Tap an app in Settings, then tap to switch off Allow Tracking. Alternatively, go to Settings > Privacy > Tracking and tap on each app in the list of applications that have asked permission to watch your activities to turn it on or off.